Recognizing Creativity in Affordable Housing Development

Two awards bestowed annually by the ULI Terwilliger Center for Housing—the Jack Kemp Excellence in Affordable and Workforce Housing Award and the Robert C. Larson Housing Policy Leadership Award—recognize efforts by ULI members, other community stakeholders, and public policymakers to increase the supply of affordable housing in communities across the United States.

In 2018, Avenue Place/Avenue Terrace in Houston; Clybourn 1200 in Chicago; Keauhou Lane in Honolulu; Conway Center in Washington, D.C.; and Harbor Place Residences in Haverhill, Massachusetts, were selected as winners of the Kemp Award, which honors developments that ensure housing affordability for people in a broad range of incomes, including those earning no more than 120 percent of the area median income. The jury also recognized the Aspen Skiing Company’s Workforce Housing in Aspen, Colorado, with a Chairman’s Award, a special recognition bestowed for a creative project designed to address the critical shortage of affordable housing for resort workers in Aspen.


The State of New York Mortgage Finance Agency and the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transit Authority were the recipients of the Larson Award, which recognizes innovative public-sector solutions to the affordable housing challenges.

Together, the 2018 winners for the Kemp and Larson awards made possible more than 1,000 affordable housing units through development and homeowner assistance.

  • “The Kemp and Larson award winners are opening up our communities to more people who cannot afford to live anywhere near where they work.”

    – J. Ronald Terwilliger, Terwilliger Center founder and chairman and former ULI global chairman

A key goal of the Kemp and Larson awards is to highlight the critical role that housing plays in achieving economic prosperity and a high quality of life, both for individuals and communities. “The Kemp and Larson award winners are opening up our communities to more people who cannot afford to live anywhere near where they work,” said Terwilliger Center Founder and Chairman and former ULI Chairman J. Ronald Terwilliger, who established the Terwilliger Center with a generous gift to the ULI Foundation. “Each of these projects and policies demonstrates the commitment and leadership that is necessary to make affordable workforce housing accessible. They are an inspiration that I hope will lead to more solutions for more of our communities,” said Terwilliger, who served as jury chairman for the Kemp and Larson awards.

In addition to Terwilliger, the jury members for the Kemp and Larson awards were George Casey, president and chief executive officer, Stockbridge Associates; Alan George, executive vice president and chief investment officer, Equity Residential; Nina Janopaul, president and chief executive officer, Arlington Partnership for Affordable Housing; Gadi Kaufmann, managing director and chief executive officer, RCLCO; Dara Kovel, president of development, Beacon Communities; Linda Mandolini, president, Eden Housing; Michael Pitchford, president and chief executive officer, Community Preservation and Development Corporation; and Margaret Wylde, chief executive officer, Pro Matura Group.

Support affordable housing programs and research with a gift to the Annual Fund and the ULI Foundation.

Use Navigator to apply to serve on the jury for the Kemp and Larson awards programs.

Find housing experts in the Member Directory; and find ULI’s housing research and related material in Knowledge Finder.


Housing Opportunity 2019 Explores Affordable Housing Crisis

Read More

Terwilliger Center Explores Shortage of Attainable Housing

Read More