/ Global

Celebrating Best Practices through Global Awards for Excellence

The powerful impact that ULI members make on communities around the world is highlighted through the Institute’s longtime tradition of celebrating best practices in design and development through the Global Awards for Excellence.

In FY 2018, 13 real estate development projects from around the world were selected as winners of the award, which is widely recognized as one of the land use industry’s most prestigious awards programs. 

The winners, each of which demonstrates an innovative, forward-looking approach to city building, included eight projects in the United States, two in Canada, one in Europe, and two in Asia: 

– Azkuna Zentroa, Bilbao, Bizkaia, Basque Country, Spain
– Buffalo Bayou Park, Houston, Texas
– Chicago Riverwalk, Chicago, Illinois
– Downtown Allentown Revitalization District, Allentown, Pennsylvania
– Emeryville Center of Community Life, Emeryville, California
– Half Moon Village, Half Moon Bay, California
– Kashiwa-no-ha Smart City, Kashiwa City, Chiba Prefecture, Japan
– Marine Gateway, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
– Milwaukee RiverWalk, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
– Oasia Hotel Downtown, Singapore, Singapore
– Pearl, San Antonio, Texas
– University Center–The New School, New York, New York
– West Don Lands, Toronto, Ontario, Canada.  

The Oasia Hotel Downtown in Singapore was one of 13 developments selected as a 2017-2018 winner of the Global Awards for Excellence.

The winners were selected by an international jury made up of ULI members representing a multidisciplinary collection of real estate development expertise, including finance, land planning, development, public affairs, design, and other professional services. 

“Each of these winners demonstrates a thoughtful, innovative approach to urban development that is adding to the sustainability and livability of the communities in which they are located,” said 2017–2018 Global Awards Jury Chairman and ULI Trustee Wendy Rowden, Building for the Arts NY, Inc. in New York City.  “They represent the type of development that will withstand the tests of time and change.” 

In addition to Jury Chairman Rowden, the 2017–2018 Global Awards for Excellence Jury members were Stuart Ackerberg, chief executive officer, Ackerberg, Minneapolis; Toni Alexander, president and creative director, InterCommunications Inc., Newport Beach, California; Jeff Barber, principal and managing director, Gensler, Washington, D.C.; Ame M. Engelhart, director, Hong Kong Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP, Hong Kong; Michael Grove, principal, Sasaki, Shanghai; Sophie Henley-Price, managing director, STUDIOS Architecture, Paris; Lynn Hoffman Carlton, regional director of planning, HOK, Kansas City, Missouri; Lance K. Josal, chief executive officer, Callison RTKL, Dallas; Roger G. Orf, partner, Apollo Management LLP, London; Alex J. Rose, senior vice president, Continental Development Corporation, El Segundo, California; and Rebecca Stone, managing principal, OZ Architecture, Denver. 

Apply to serve on the Global Awards for Excellence Jury through Navigator 

  • “Each of these winners demonstrates a thoughtful, innovative approach to urban development that is adding to the sustainability and livability of the communities in which they are located.” 

    – Global Awards Jury Chairman Wendy Rowden


/ Americas

Recognizing Creativity in Affordable Housing Development

The Terwilliger Center's Kemp and Larson Awards highlight the critical role that housing plays in achieving economic prosperity and a high quality of life.

Read More
/ Americas

Influencing the Next Generation of Land Use Professionals

ULI’s ongoing efforts to raise interest among young people in creating better communities is reflected in the ULI Hines Student Competition.

Read More